META

Step settings

This panel is used to list and manage all the steps of the project which are used by the pipeline, production tracking and planning.

Steps can also be directly created, edited and removed from the pipeline editor.

List

The list on the left lists all the steps of the project, and you can use the Search field to filter them by name or ID.
When changing the size of the rows in the list, more details about each step can be displayed. The folder button on the top right corner for each user in the list opens the user folder in your file explorer.

Use the button to create a new step (either completely new or using a template). The button removes the selected steps from the project1.

You can use the [Shift + A] shortcut key to quickly add new steps.

You can use the [DEL] or [Shift + X] shortcut key to quickly remove selected steps.

You can scroll all lists using [Middle click] as well as the [Mouse wheel].

Steps can be re-order by dragging their ID in the column header of the list.

Hint

Ramses comes with a set of template steps, but they can be completely adjusted to any production needs; for example, if you consider Character Desgin to be a pre-production step instead of an asset production step, it’s up to you to customize the templates.

The list of template steps is available and can be managed in the administration panel by administrator users.

Edition

There are three tabs for other details:

Finally, the button opens the step folder in your file explorer. This folder contains the step common files, especially the templates, but not the working files which are stored within their assets and shots.

Tip

To change the ID of the step, you’ll need to create a new one with the new ID and remove the old one; it may be safe to do so at the beginning of a project, but existing data (if any) can’t be transfered to the new step, be careful!

More details about Steps and Ramses.

More details about estimations and planning.


  1. The data is not actually deleted from the server nor the local data, but just flagged as removed. A server administrator can still restore the data at any time, but there is no way (yet) to do that from the user interface of the application.